2015 British National Circuit Racing Championships


Barnsley is set to host the 2015 British National Circuit Racing Championships on Wednesday 29 July, with the cream of Britain’s talent vying for the coveted national champion jerseys.

Yorkshire town is sure to crown a new men’s champion, while 2014 champion Eileen Roe returns to defend her women’s title.

The pretenders


Last year’s men’s title holder Adam Blythe will be out for the 2015 event, paving the way for a new champion to be crowned and the 2015 British Cycling Elite Circuit Series has revealed a string of challengers all capable of winning the victory in criterium format.

ONE Pro Cycling’s Jon Mold is the current Elite Circuit Series leader and looks strong as Barnsley approaches, with a pair of second places in the championship race strengthening his lead after winning the Stafford Grand Prix.

Mold will face stiff competition from Ed Clancy of JLT Condor, who will be keen to repeat his 2010 title victory in his hometown.

Raleigh GAC are another strong team who have shown they are capable of launching their riders to victory on the circuit. Andrew Hawdon has an Elite Circuit Series victory to his name this season, while the team also includes Under-23 road race silver medalist Sam Lowe.

However, ONE Pro Cycling has more than Mold to cling to, with 2013 Elite Circuit Series champion George Atkins yet to show the kind of circuit racing form he displayed two years ago. . Madison Genesis fought with ONE Pro Cycling the Pearl Izumi Tour series earlier in the year and has a host of proven winners.

Chris Lawless of Team Wiggins is in criterium form this season after winning the Stockton Grand Prix. Lawless will be joined at Barnsley by the talents of Luc Hall, Jon Dibben and Mark Christian.

Another young challenger is Gabriel Cullaigh who has had a great season so far with the Great Britain and 100% ME cycling team, winning a stage in the Peace Race and taking victory in the Stafford Kermesse .

The young Yorkshire sprinter could be a threat to established teams, amid a strong Under-23 squad including Germain Burton, Scott Davies and Matt Gibson.


Eileen Roe and Amy Roberts

Eileen Roe has quality opposition in the way she wins back-to-back circuit championship titles at Barnsley. In 2014, Roe, then riding for Starley Primal Pro Cycling, led Amy Roberts home and 2015 will see the gold and silver medalists united as the Wiggle Honda team.

Charline Joiner won bronze last year and is back with the WNT team. They’ll all face mountain biker and U-23 road racing champion Alice Barnes, who once again swaps the tracks for the tarmac in search of another British champion’s jersey.

Nicola Juniper

Barnes is a lone rider for the Betch.NL-Superior Brentjens mountain bike racing team, a fact that could work against her in the middle of a formation containing large teams. Foremost among them is the Giordana Triton team, with talent and depth, combined with a record of results already this season.

Nicola Juniper took victory in the Women’s Road Series and is surrounded by strong riders including Grace Garner and Annasley Park, both of whom tasted the Women’s Road Series victory in 2015 with Juniper.

The place

2015 British Cycling National Circuit Race Championships route map

Riders will compete on a clockwise 1.1 kilometer city center circuit that begins and ends in front of Barnsley Town Hall on Church Street. The women’s race will start at 6.30 p.m. followed by the men’s race at 8.00 p.m. Both races will last 50 minutes, followed by five laps of the circuit.

Start lists



How to follow the race


Leave A Reply