2016 British National Circuit Racing Championships


The national champions jerseys are up for grabs in Birmingham on an exciting evening of bike racing in the city.

The nation’s top riders and teams travel to the Midlands on Thursday July 28 with men’s and women’s titles to be determined.

men’s championship

Defending champion Ian Bibby will seek to become the first man of this century to win back-to-back national circuit titles.

The NFTO rider is in good shape, having won the Wales Open Criterium in the British Cycling Elite Circuit Series earlier this month.

Perhaps Bibby’s main challenge will come from JLT Condor’s Chris Lawless.

Lawless won three rounds of the British Cycling Elite Circuit Series in 2016 and will surely be aiming for the title in Birmingham.

Chris Lawless

Another major threat could come from one of Lawless’s teammates, Graham Briggs, former champion in 2011 and finalist last year. Another JLT Condor rider, Tom Moses, has had a great season with a victory in the RideStaffs Kermesse in the Motorpoint Grand Prix Series to his name this year.

Harry Tanfield of Pedal Heaven will be looking to convert a victory in the circuit series into national championships, as will Jacob Hennessy of the Spirit Bikes Racing team.

Women’s championship

On the women’s side, all eyes will be on Nikki Juniper as she seeks to retain the national champion jersey she won in 2015.

Juniper of the Ford Ecoboost team dominated the national scene in 2016 by winning the British Cycling Women’s Road Series 2016 with three races to go.

Alice barnes

Alice Barnes took second place at the 2016 UK National Road Cycling Championships, and with it the Under-23 title, and the Drops cycling team rider will look to emulate her three-time champion sister Hannah. circuit racing, but will not compete in Birmingham.

The Podium Ambition p / b Club La Santa roster will be confident in a strong performance, with Grace Garner and Gabriella Shaw being part of their four-woman squad.

Annasley Park

Perhaps the most popular team competing in Birmingham will be Team Breeze. With part of the squad coming off the Under-23 honors at the UEC Track Juniors and U23 European Championships in Italy earlier this month, Emily Nelson, Emily Kay and Danielle Khan will be in action in Birmingham. – with Annasley Park perhaps the most likely to challenge for honors.


The race will take place on a 1.1 km downtown circuit, starting and ending on Broad Street and passing through Granville Street, Holliday Street and Bridge Street.

2016 British National Circuit Racing Championships

Start lists

race men

Women’s race


6.30 p.m .: Start of the women’s race (50 minutes plus 5 laps)
7:30 p.m .: End of the women’s race
7.40 p.m .: Presentation of the women’s podium
8:00 p.m .: Start of the Men’s race (50 minutes plus 5 laps)
9:00 p.m .: finish of the men’s race
9:10 p.m .: Presentation of the men’s podium

How to follow

  • Follow the action with updates and images on our live blog starting at 6:15 p.m. Thursday.
  • To follow @BritishCycling on Twitter for updates, images and videos.
  • Live broadcast on Eurosport from 6.15 p.m.


Leave A Reply