Formula E to host electric racing event at Red Hook in July


The Formula E World Championship returns to Red Hook this summer for the 2021 NYC ePrix.

Dennis Schneidler-USA TODAY Sports

A silent array of electric racing cars will descend on Red Hook this summer, as the International Automobile Federation and Formula E announced Thursday morning that the nabe will host a double-title racing event for the fourth time since 2017 at the during the month of July. 10 and 11.

Formula E is a single-seater motorsport championship that resembles Formula 1 cars, but they use fully electric motors. Now in its seventh season, the fastest growing motorsport has recently achieved World Championship status by the FIA.

The races will take place in the streets of Red Hook, Brooklyn, adjacent to the Brooklyn Cruise Terminal, along the borough’s west coast, where the Manhattan skyline and the Statue of Liberty provide a backdrop. breathtaking background.

New York will be the venue for the 10th and 11th rounds of a 15-round season Formula E – which was released in full on Thursday – which has already hosted races in Diriyah, Saudi Arabia and Rome, Italy.

The championships will be held in Valencia, Spain, April 24-25, as well as Monaco and Puebla, Mexico, before heading to the United States.

New York did not host Formula E last season due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

“It is a huge achievement for everyone to publish the full schedule for this season,” said Alberto Longo, co-founder and director of the Formula E championship. “The schedule includes the highest number of races that we have organized in one season and shows our continued commitment to creating a dynamic schedule that fans and audiences around the world will follow. Four double-title events in Puebla, New York, London and Berlin will perfectly set the stage to crown the first official FIA Formula E World Champion.

While Formula E has an extremely international feel similar to Formula 1, there is a strong American influence to please the local crowd in Brooklyn.

Two of the 12 teams – BMW i Andretti Motorsport and Dragon / Penske Autosport – are American owned.

Fans will also see two of motorsport’s most legendary names in their first Formula E seasons as Mercedes and Porsche race on American soil for the first time in competition.


Comments are closed.